Robbed

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Slapstick
    Rookie
    • May 2008
    • 0

    #31
    Originally posted by BURGH86STEEL
    From my view he caught the ball, turned, and reached over the goal line. I guess no one really knows what's a catch anymore.
    I do.

    For Gronkowski, that would have been a TD catch.

    THAT is the deciding factor...
    Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

    Comment

    • Docosc
      Backup
      • Jan 2017
      • 293

      #32
      And that is the truth....

      Comment

      • Starlifter
        Legend
        • May 2008
        • 5098

        #33
        The three and out was the tipping point. They got a gift with the juju catch - but a horrible decision by Ben. The TD overturn was correct by the rule - but that rule has to go.

        But really, no answer for gronk all day. The 2 point conversion was disgustingly obvious. Although gronk should have got 15 for taunting.

        Anway. Lots of opportunities. Steelers have no one to blame. They had the chances. Including a missed pick at the end.
        2014 MNF EXEC CHAMPION!!!

        Comment

        • feltdizz
          Legend
          • May 2008
          • 27564

          #34
          Originally posted by Slapstick
          I do.

          For Gronkowski, that would have been a TD catch.

          THAT is the deciding factor...
          yup. I’ve hate watched enough Pats games to see them get away with a catch like that
          Steelers 27
          Rats 16

          Comment

          • SteelCrazy
            Legend
            • Aug 2008
            • 5056

            #35
            Mike Pereira

            @MikePereira
            Look, here is the rule. If you’re going to the ground you have to hold onto the ball when the ball hits the ground…Going to the ground trumps lunging/reaching to try and get extra yards or score a TD. You do that at your own risk. It’s incomplete…just ask Dez
            2019 Mock

            1. ILB
            2. CB
            3. ILB
            4. S
            5. CB
            6. ILB
            7. S

            Comment

            • Terrapin
              Pro Bowler
              • Sep 2017
              • 2085

              #36
              Absolutely robbed. A complete joke of a call/rule.

              That being said, how many more catches do you think Gronk would have to get before our coaches even consider doubling him?

              Ben throwing a slant into quadruple coverage was pathetic.

              NE is very beatable, but not by us. Just isn't going to happen, especially now without AB

              Comment

              • snarky
                Pro Bowler
                • Sep 2008
                • 1198

                #37
                I still don't see a definitive look where the ball makes contact with the ground prior to the second time James has control. I mean mistakes happen and life goes on but for now I think it was a poor decision to overturn that. Had it been ruled incomplete at first I would have no quarrel with it.
                In response to his pleas, an officer said: "You think we've never arrested somebody that's made national media? ... We deal with the Bengals all the time."

                [url="http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/news/story?id=3880848"]http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/news/story?id=3880848[/url]

                Comment

                • SteelCrazy
                  Legend
                  • Aug 2008
                  • 5056

                  #38
                  We got robbed of the game thanks to a dumb rule and Jesse James. He spun the ball from his grasp when his left elbow hit the ground.
                  2019 Mock

                  1. ILB
                  2. CB
                  3. ILB
                  4. S
                  5. CB
                  6. ILB
                  7. S

                  Comment

                  • Slapstick
                    Rookie
                    • May 2008
                    • 0

                    #39
                    Originally posted by snarky
                    I still don't see a definitive look where the ball makes contact with the ground prior to the second time James has control. I mean mistakes happen and life goes on but for now I think it was a poor decision to overturn that. Had it been ruled incomplete at first I would have no quarrel with it.
                    Exactly. “Clear visual evidence” my ass...
                    Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

                    Comment

                    • WB Tarleton
                      Backup
                      • Nov 2017
                      • 343

                      #40
                      We were only "robbed" by Jesse James. BTW, I hate the rule. What is a catch in today's NFL is so freaking convoluted that it is absurd. They need to go back to possession and two feet or a knee down. It is simpler for everyone (including the refs) involved. But we have the rules we have. No catch. Jesse blew it:

                      Item 1. Player Going to the Ground. A player is considered to be going to the ground if he does not remain upright long enough to demonstrate that he is clearly a runner. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball until after his initial contact with the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete. https://operations.nfl.com/the-rules/nfl-video-rulebook/completing-a-catch/
                      Last edited by WB Tarleton; 12-17-2017, 09:49 PM.

                      Comment

                      • SteelCrazy
                        Legend
                        • Aug 2008
                        • 5056

                        #41
                        Watch the ball spin out of his left hand at the 2:06 mark.
                        2019 Mock

                        1. ILB
                        2. CB
                        3. ILB
                        4. S
                        5. CB
                        6. ILB
                        7. S

                        Comment

                        • Slapstick
                          Rookie
                          • May 2008
                          • 0

                          #42
                          Dude, I have the game on DVR. I watched that catch literally 20 times, and in no replay could I see clear visual evidence to overturn the call. Again, if the initial ruling had been incomplete, I wouldn’t be so upset.
                          Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

                          Comment

                          • WB Tarleton
                            Backup
                            • Nov 2017
                            • 343

                            #43
                            Originally posted by pfelix73
                            Exactly. As soon as the ball crosses the plane, its supposed to be a dead ball. TD
                            20 years ago, maybe.

                            Comment

                            • Slapstick
                              Rookie
                              • May 2008
                              • 0

                              #44
                              Originally posted by WB Tarleton
                              20 years ago, maybe.
                              Or if you are wearing a silver helmet.
                              Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

                              Comment

                              • Docosc
                                Backup
                                • Jan 2017
                                • 293

                                #45
                                By the letter of the law, it was the right call, but damn, we don't have to feel good about it.

                                Comment

                                Working...