Robbed

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Docosc
    Backup
    • Jan 2017
    • 293

    Neither D could stop the other O. Would have basically come down to the coin flip. I am ok with playing to win, just poor execution.

    Comment

    • NorthCoast
      Legend
      • Sep 2008
      • 26629

      Originally posted by KYPITTFAN
      Ben pressed with the INT, he and everyone knows Patts would have won in OT.
      Disagree. PIT was playing to win the game not for the tie. Otherwise they could have kicked a FG on 3rd down.

      Comment

      • pittpete
        Legend
        • Aug 2008
        • 6825

        Raiders receiver just had a catch reviewed.
        The ball may have hit the ground.
        The ball didnt spin.
        No clear evidence that the ball hit the ground even though it moved.
        It was ruled a catch on the field and wasn't overturned
        sigpic

        Comment

        • pittpete
          Legend
          • Aug 2008
          • 6825

          Originally posted by KYPITTFAN
          Ben pressed with the INT, he and everyone knows Patts would have won in OT.
          That is a different thread
          sigpic

          Comment

          • Slapstick
            Rookie
            • May 2008
            • 0

            Originally posted by pittpete
            Raiders receiver just had a catch reviewed.
            The ball may have hit the ground.
            The ball didnt spin.
            No clear evidence that the ball hit the ground even though it moved.
            It was ruled a catch on the field and wasn't overturned
            The Raiders aren’t playing the Pats**...
            Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

            Comment

            • pittpete
              Legend
              • Aug 2008
              • 6825

              True dat...LOL
              sigpic

              Comment

              • NJ-STEELER
                Legend
                • May 2008
                • 12563

                Listen. If you don't know THE rule by now, I'm not sure what you're watching.
                When a receiver is going to the ground within his fisrt 2 steps of establishing possession he must maintain control though out the catch.
                James was going to the ground as he caught the pass. This cannot be disputed.

                What you can argue and what some have alluded to is Where is the evidence of the ball hitting the ground .for a call to be overturned they need indisputable evidence and from what NBC showed there wasn't any.
                Perhaps the officials get additional views on the replay booth. f they do they need to show the public the video of it.

                You can't just assume the ball hit the ground, you actually need to see the ball touching the grass without James hand/fingers underneath it
                Last edited by NJ-STEELER; 12-18-2017, 06:29 AM.

                Comment

                • Slapstick
                  Rookie
                  • May 2008
                  • 0

                  According to NFL rules, the receiver must maintain control after his INITIAL CONTACT WITH THE GROUND. Isn’t a knee hitting the ground the “initial contact”? And was there sufficient evidence on video to overturn the call?
                  Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

                  Comment

                  • Sword
                    Pro Bowler
                    • Sep 2011
                    • 2046

                    James wasn't "going to the ground". He had made the catch and was already on the ground and reaching to get the ball across the goal line.
                    Ball breaks goal line...Touchdown..doesn't matter what happens after......
                    What ever happened to making a football move? He caught it, turned to cross the goal line. Once it breaks the plane, it's a touchdown

                    Comment

                    • JAR
                      Pro Bowler
                      • May 2008
                      • 1620

                      https://mobile.twitter.com/CarterCritiques/status/942623311045058560?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp %5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

                      Comment

                      • Sword
                        Pro Bowler
                        • Sep 2011
                        • 2046

                        Originally posted by JAR
                        https://mobile.twitter.com/CarterCritiques/status/942623311045058560?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp %5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
                        exactly!!!

                        Comment

                        • Slapstick
                          Rookie
                          • May 2008
                          • 0

                          In that clip, Cooks had possession when he made initial contact with the ground. Just as James did.
                          Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

                          Comment

                          • feltdizz
                            Legend
                            • May 2008
                            • 27493

                            Originally posted by JAR
                            https://mobile.twitter.com/CarterCritiques/status/942623311045058560?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp %5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
                            so frustrating. seen this so many times this year. It really depends on the crew and the money line IMO.

                            I have no doubt if James did that against any other team it would be ruled a TD.
                            Steelers 27
                            Rats 16

                            Comment

                            • WB Tarleton
                              Backup
                              • Nov 2017
                              • 343

                              Originally posted by pittpete
                              So any time a ball hits the ground in the NFL it spins?
                              The ball spins because he tried to grab it while it was moving and it slipped off his finger tips causing the awkard horizontal spin.
                              If the point would've hit the ground like you're saying it would have bounced up no?
                              There is no CLEAR evidence and you continue to assume and make things up to justify your opinion.
                              I have links i can post also after doing more investigating.
                              You think the NFL is going to admit it may have made a mistake?
                              If it was so clear why did it take so long to reverse the call?
                              No angle shows the ball hitting the ground.
                              No one is right.
                              The only thing correctly called was the rule which needs to be revisited



                              But while the ball’s actually moving? I.e., when the ball is doing the thing that almost certainly caused officials to overturn the catch? There’s nothing approaching hard evidence that the ball was touching the ground. The ball might have moved in his right hand, with James’ knuckles taking the ground’s impact and popping the ball up.
                              lol Whatever. Nope. Ball not touching the ground at all...

                              Or you could go to the Depot article and just look at the pic at the top. The ball is clearly touching the ground, but hey, keep your fantasies alive. http://www.steelersdepot.com/2017/12/jesse-james-td-overturned-steelers-lose-27-24-heartbreaker-patriots/

                              Comment

                              • pittpete
                                Legend
                                • Aug 2008
                                • 6825

                                I dont have any fantasies about this play.
                                That pic at Steelers Depot shows what exactly?


                                Is that after the ball spun?
                                Wheres his left hand?

                                You refuse to admit there is no clear evidence anywhere thats its possible the ball didnt hit the ground.
                                All i see is a dark shadow.
                                The ruling on the field was a TD.
                                If there was any DOUBT that the ball touched the ground then it shouldnt have been overturned.
                                sigpic

                                Comment

                                Working...