Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Tomlin insulted

Legend

User Info Menu

Tomlin insulted

Tomlin insulted

by Ray Fittipaldo
    Sept. 29, 2014

Steelers coach Mike Tomlin was asked in an interview with Fox about being referred to as a “Players’ coach.”

Tomlin took offense to the line of questioning and suggested he is called a players’ coach because of his race and his age.

“You know, it doesn’t bother me because I don’t worry too much about what people define me as, you know,” Tomlin said. “But at the same time it’s something that I get tired of addressing or answering over the last eight years because invariably, you know, I think it means something about my age and my race, you know.

“And I’ve been doing this job for eight years. And I think anybody that I work with will tell you that I mean business and there’s no blurred lines in terms of the relationships that I have with the guys in terms of their roles and my roles. And I think sometimes it just is somewhat insulting, to be honest with you…

“I just, I get asked it so much and I’ve been doing the job so long I just get tired of it. Dick LeBeau is an old, white guy, that’s got unique relationships with players. He’s a players’ coach. You know, but it doesn’t seem like he gets asked that question quite as much as I do.”

[URL]http://www.post-gazette.com/sports/steelers/2014/09/29/Steelers-notebook-Unlikely-hero-becoming-fan-of-Heinz-Field/stories/201409290113[/URL]

Rookie

User Info Menu

He's got a point...
    Actually, my post was NOT about you...but, if the shoe fits, feel free to lace that &!+€# up and wear it.

Legend

User Info Menu

Deebo "cried" over DL but got no emotion about either Cowher or Tomlin. Point is valid.

In view of the fact that Mike Tomlin has matched Cowhers record I give him the designation:

TCFCLTC-
    The Coach Formerly Considered Less Than Cowher

Legend

User Info Menu

Hit a nerve I see.
    Trolls are people too.

Legend

User Info Menu