Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training camp advice

Training camp advice

Every year I take a couple of buddies back to Pittsburgh to visit and grab a Steelers preseason game in the process. I try and do the Pirates/Steelers double dip, but that isn't always possible. This year, I want to try and extend the trip to include at least a day at training camp in Latrobe before headiong to the preseason game, something I have never done before.
    So I thought I would ask my all-knowing Steelers bretheren what I need to know about training camp. What time I need to be there to get in, when I should go, what I should bring, where to stay, etc. Just anything you have that I need to know. Thanks in advance (unless you are a smart ass, then in advance)

Prok

Re: Training camp advice

I try to go every year and one piece of advice i could give is GET THERE EARLY. That parking lot (and field) fills up quickly and it becomes a long walk.

When my son was younger i'd stand by the fences waiting for autographs and found it can get REALLY hot if you wear a Steelers home jersey. So i stick to white Steelers gear. lol

About a block or so up the street from there is a place called "Sharkeys" i believe. Players have been known to pop in there after meetings and such. And it is a friendly place to BS with fellow Steelers fans.

I'd also recommend the Steelers and NFL experience stuff. Especially for kids.

All in all it's just a great place for a die-hard Steelers fan to be in late July or Early August.

Prok

Oh, another fun little thing we've done in recent years:

If you get stuck having to walk a long ways to the practice fields.... What we have done is check out the licence plates on as many cars as we could on our way to the fields. You'd be surprised how far Steelers fans will travel just to see training camp. My sis-in-law actually started taking pics to show her friends how far people travel. lol

Legend