PDA

View Full Version : Can Washington out-produce Eric Green?

whisper
05-18-2023, 04:25 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1NOxHMDBTQ

EG was the gigantic Pgh TE before Washington was ever born. At 6-6, 280 lbs, when he was on the light side, before the draft. He was even bigger, and more athletic, than Washington. EG had a bit of a self discipline problem though. Anyone else remember the party he threw before than AFC title game vs. San Diego that year? (1994?) The team, as a whole, didn't seem to take the Chargers seriously enough and we got upset. Hope EG's party was a good time.

https://www.profootballhistory.com/eric-green/

1st round draft pick of Noll's. Out of Liberty.

WindyCitySteel
05-19-2023, 07:30 AM
He won't sniff 34 catches as a rookie unless every other TE gets injured and misses significant time. If he can run block like Green as a rookie I'll be thrilled.

Northern_Blitz
05-19-2023, 08:43 AM
He won't sniff 34 catches as a rookie unless every other TE gets injured and misses significant time. If he can run block like Green as a rookie I'll be thrilled.

I agree.

He's going to mostly be a blocking guy.

But I won't be surprised if he's TE2 by the end of the year (and maybe the beginning) based on all the hype around him for his blocking ability.

Gentry had 19 catches on 24 targets last year. I doubt Washington has that many, but maybe he gets in the 10 - 12 range?

SteelerOfDeVille
05-19-2023, 10:17 AM
I agree.

But I won't be surprised if he's TE2 by the end of the year (and maybe the beginning) based on all the hype around him for his blocking ability.

Gentry had 19 catches on 24 targets last year. I doubt Washington has that many, but maybe he gets in the 10 - 12 range?
I honestly think he surpasses the 24 targets simply because he'll play Gentry's spot and I think the team passes more. I think most players see more targets. I'd say his targets are mid 30's

whisper
05-19-2023, 11:15 AM
I agree.