View Full Version : Bettis, Greene HOF Semi-Finalist's

12-01-2012, 11:04 PM
The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their 27 semifinalists for the Class of 2013, and among them are two former Pittsburgh Steelers, running back Jerome Bettis and linebacker Kevin Greene. Bettis was a finalist the last two years and Greene was a finalist last year.

ďItís always an honor whenever you can reach the semifinalist list,Ē said Bettis. ďItís never a thing where you assume itís going to happen. Nothing is promised to you. Itís always refreshing and new. I am just excited and I will go from there. I am not overly excited because I understand the process, but there is reason for excitement.Ē

Normally there are only 25 semifinalists, but there are 27 this year because of a three-way tie.

That list will be narrowed down to 15 modern-era finalists in early January.

The Class of 2013 will be announced on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013, the day before Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans, Louisiana.


12-02-2012, 12:08 AM
Here is the list of 27 semifinalists:

Larry Allen, G/T – 1994-2005 Dallas Cowboys, 2006-07 San Francisco 49ers

Morten Andersen, K – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, S – 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Jerome Bettis, RB – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Tim Brown, WR/KR – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Cris Carter, WR – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Joe Jacoby, T – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Albert Lewis, CB – 1983-1993 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

John Lynch, FS – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Karl Mecklenburg, LB – 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Art Modell, Owner – 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2011 Baltimore Ravens

Jonathan Ogden, T – 1996-2007 Baltimore Ravens

Bill Parcells, Coach – 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys

Andre Reed, WR – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Warren Sapp, DT – 1995-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Oakland Raiders

Will Shields, G – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Michael Strahan, DE – 1993-2007 New York Giants

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, ST/WR – 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Aeneas Williams, CB/S – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

George Young, Contributor – 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League

12-02-2012, 12:13 AM
Off the top of my head, if I had to choose 5 modern day candidates from that list, I would probably go with Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Charles Haley, Jonathan Ogden, and Bill Parcells (Senior candidates Curley Culp and Dave Robinson would round out the 7 man class). I actually like Will Shields more than Charles Haley right now, but if Allen and Ogden make it, I doubt they would induct 3 OL in the same class.

12-02-2012, 01:22 AM
I'd probably go with these:

Larry Allen
Tim Brown
Cris Carter
Charles Haley
Jonathan Ogden


12-02-2012, 01:56 PM
Steve Tasker is an interesting case, since he was the best ever at what he did. However, Hall of Fame selectors have already shown that they are biased against special teams players, even if you are the best ever at your position (see Guy, Ray).