PDA

View Full Version : Steelers OL rated as "Most Improved"



Oviedo
05-04-2012, 01:31 PM
From ESPN after the draft


With the NFL draft and the better portion of free agency behind us, most teams have made their biggest moves to improve their rosters for the 2012 season. Looking at the additions so far, I see several units that have been improved this offseason. On Thursday, I examined those units in the NFC (http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/7885695/dallas-cowboys-secondary-offseason-most-improved-units-nfl). Today, let's take a look at the AFC, focusing on the upgrades by the Pittsburgh Steelers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/pit/pittsburgh-steelers), Buffalo Bills (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/buf/buffalo-bills) and Indianapolis Colts (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/ind/indianapolis-colts).

http://a.espncdn.com/i/teamlogos/nfl/med/pit.gif Pittsburgh Steelers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/pit/pittsburgh-steelers)
Unit: Offensive line
This unit has been an ongoing problem for this organization for years, but they may have finally fixed this group after this draft. When you are forced to use 25 O-line combinations and give up 42 sacks, as the Steelers did in 2011, there is clearly work to be done.

They drafted the best interior offensive lineman in the draft, G David DeCastro (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/14935/david-decastro), in the first round and came back in the second round and selected RT Mike Adams (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8133/mike-adams), a talented player with some off-the-field baggage. Both should be immediate starters. When you envision DeCastro playing next to talented center Maurkice Pouncey (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13250/maurkice-pouncey), the Steelers should have a dominating interior run-blocking and pass-protection duo. Even though QB Ben Roethlisberger (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/5536/ben-roethlisberger) is prone to extending plays with his feet and taking big hits, DeCastro and Adams should lessen the number of unnecessary shots he gets.

RT Marcus Gilbert (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/13998/marcus-gilbert) will likely move to left tackle to make room for Adams, which gives the Steelers four outstanding young players who can grow and improve together.

Djfan
05-04-2012, 01:45 PM
Was that a cut and paste from this board?

NorthCoast
05-04-2012, 05:33 PM
Was that a cut and paste from this board?

Considering where the OL was, "most improved" is not a high bar to hit....