PDA

View Full Version : Hope for the offense

steeler_george
09-20-2010, 11:07 AM
How depressing is to sit through games watching this offense?

It is killing me too. They desperately need to show some life. We just can't wait and think with Ben's return we will make our run. After yesterdays victory, Tomlin made me a believer. I don't want to be just satisfied, going 3-1 or 2-2 till Ben returns. I want to go 4-0 and take a demanding lead in the AFCN.

They key in giving life to the offense right now is getting healthier. With the return of Starks, Essex, and Byron will the O will definitely improve, but how much remains to be seen.

I think with Byron back, we will have a game manager and a play maker. Defenses will still have 8 or 9 in the box, but being a vet I think he has the maturity to beat teams that give him the window to throw. As for return of our starting T and G I think familiarity of playing as unit will deliver more holes for the running game and hopefully adequate time for Lefty.

Another key is we are leaving too many plays on the field and they all have to with mental aspects of the game not the physical. Too many dropped catch-able balls, offensive line penalties, missed blocks, and plain stupid mental mistakes. Take for example, when the 30 sec clock expired on that pitch to Mendy it looked like it was going to be a big gain.

Secondly, I think that more trick plays should be installed to keep the opposing Defense on their toes, such as reverses, WR screens, flea flickers, ala super bowl throw from ARE to Ward. Need plays to spread the D out to help open opportunities for Mendy and the WR.

JUST-PLAIN-NASTY
09-20-2010, 11:45 AM
How depressing is to sit through games watching this offense?