PDA

View Full Version : Mike Tomlin, On Coming Home

SteelCrazy
07-08-2010, 06:02 PM
http://hamptonroads.com/2010/07/mike-tomlin-coming-home

I talked with Pittsburgh Steelers coach Mike Tomlin the other day in advance of his annual return to the Peninsula, where he was raised, to work some free football camps run by the
Hampton Roads Youth Foundation. Tomlin had no interest in talking about specific Steelers issues such as the suspended Ben Roethlisberger or his teamís second-half collapse last season that kept it from making the playoffs. But Tomlin did expand a bit on why itís so important to him to return to Newport News and spend some of his rare downtime with local youth:

ON MAKING HIS ANNUAL ďAPPEARANCEĒ AT HOME: ďItís funny to me that itís viewed that way. I guess the view of it has changed because of the job that I have. But Iíve been making an effort to come down there for years. It was just I guess with a little less fanfare when I was a position coach for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. ďMy entire family is in the greater Hampton Roads area. Newport News, Hampton, Suffolk, Norfolk, thatís where I was born and raised, so thatís home for me. Itís home base. More than anything what happens is when you get home, your time isnít necessarily your time. Iíve got a bunch of people to see and things to get done, and thatís OK, Iím just glad that Iíll be back around familiar faces and anything that I can do to help, Iím willing to. So I try to kill multiple birds with the same stone over the course of this weekend coming up.Ē