PDA

View Full Version : All this talk about Steelers being home for castoff players

SanAntonioSteelerFan
01-27-2010, 09:21 AM
I'm no expert at all in drafting and trading strategy, I need to say that first in case it's not obvious.

But, I've been feeling kind of :wft when I read posts about maybe we can pick up this CB because he's getting cut, or that O lineman because he's getting cut, etc. A fair amount of the times, the players being discussed aren't even starting on their teams, and they definitely have not been outstanding.

Our problems were pretty much because our starters couldn't compete well in the NFL. When I read about the possibility of replacing them with other mediocre-at-best players, I just cringe inside.

I understand we can only take what is available. But does anyone think there are other ways to get high quality players for our team? Would it be worth trading up and giving a lot of draft picks away in the draft? Should we shoot our whole wad for this upcoming season, put all our eggs in that basket so to speak?

In the NFL can teams make deals with players under contract, like in baseball - ... "we'll give you two first round picks and a 2nd round pick for Revis NOW", can that be done?

Thanks for listening and explaining!

stlrz d
01-27-2010, 09:28 AM
With a salary cap it's not possible to have "high quality" players at every spot. You have a few studs and then have to sprinkle "blue collar" guys into the mix.

It's all about finding those "bargain" guys who fit the system and contribute without breaking the bank so you can keep the "high quality" guys too.

Oviedo
01-27-2010, 09:29 AM
I'm no expert at all in drafting and trading strategy, I need to say that first in case it's not obvious.