PDA

View Full Version : OT: Question about the dish



stlrz d
05-21-2008, 10:49 PM
So I'm going to look at a place to rent tomorrow (a house) and the landlord said I could get the dish if I want. A coworker has directv and said he'd split it with me. What that means is he gets an additional box, I hook it up at my place and pay him half each month. All I have to do is get a dish and get it installed. We're already talking about going halves on Sunday Ticket which means no more games at BW3 for this guy :!: :!: :!:

Anyway, my question is about the dish itself. Is there a difference between a directv and dish network dish? Not the boxes...just the dish. My mom had dish network at one time and if there is no difference I'll take the dish off her house and have it installed at my place. I can't imagine there is a difference between them, but would like to hear it from someone who knows for sure. So who's the board expert?

Thanks in advance!

NKySteeler
05-21-2008, 10:55 PM
stlrz, I believe they all have thier own "encoding" within, but am not sure. You can simply call and ask them for that matter.... BTW, I suggest going to a 5-LNB dish and getting a HD receiver.... It's worth it!.... If you have any serious questions, PM me, or better yet, give me a call and I'll give you all the info I know.... :wink:

costanza2k1
05-21-2008, 10:58 PM
So I'm going to look at a place to rent tomorrow (a house) and the landlord said I could get the dish if I want. A coworker has directv and said he'd split it with me. What that means is he gets an additional box, I hook it up at my place and pay him half each month. All I have to do is get a dish and get it installed. We're already talking about going halves on Sunday Ticket which means no more games at BW3 for this guy:!: :!: :!:

Anyway, my question is about the dish itself. Is there a difference between a directv and dish network dish? Not the boxes...just the dish. My mom had dish network at one time and if there is no difference I'll take the dish off her house and have it installed at my place. I can't imagine there is a difference between them, but would like to hear it from someone who knows for sure. So who's the board expert?

Thanks in advance!

There is no difference in the dish and LNB, the sole purpose is to capture any signals that are being broadcasted. What allows you to get your DTV is the decoder which is the box + smart card. You should be solid.

stlrz d
05-21-2008, 11:02 PM
stlrz, I believe they all have thier own "encoding" within, but am not sure. You can simply call and ask them for that matter.... BTW, I suggest going to a 5-LNB dish and getting a HD receiver.... It's worth it!.... If you have any serious questions, PM me, or better yet, give me a call and I'll give you all the info I know.... :wink:

Thanks for that bit of info. The dish on my mom's house is 5 or 6 years old...probably not HD compatible. As for an HD box...there is no doubt on that my friend...no doubt. I may have to take a look on eBay for a dish that meets the criteria you mentioned.

I'll check into it and let you know if I need any more info.

In case anyone's wondering, I can't buy a dish from directv or have it installed by directv because I'm not signing up for service.

Shhhhhh.... :P

stlrz d
05-21-2008, 11:03 PM
So I'm going to look at a place to rent tomorrow (a house) and the landlord said I could get the dish if I want. A coworker has directv and said he'd split it with me. What that means is he gets an additional box, I hook it up at my place and pay him half each month. All I have to do is get a dish and get it installed. We're already talking about going halves on Sunday Ticket which means no more games at BW3 for this guy:!: :!: :!:

Anyway, my question is about the dish itself. Is there a difference between a directv and dish network dish? Not the boxes...just the dish. My mom had dish network at one time and if there is no difference I'll take the dish off her house and have it installed at my place. I can't imagine there is a difference between them, but would like to hear it from someone who knows for sure. So who's the board expert?

Thanks in advance!

There is no difference in the dish and LNB, the sole purpose is to capture any signals that are being broadcasted. What allows you to get your DTV is the decoder which is the box + smart card. You should be solid.

If I have an HD box does the dish matter? Meaning my mom's 5 or 6 year old dish?

NKySteeler
05-21-2008, 11:04 PM
....But if he is gonna go HD at any point down the road, if not now, he'll need a higher LNB dish..... Directv is using the 5-LNB .... If he's gonna hafta buy one, don't you think he should get one for needs costanza?...... Hell, I'm just thinkin' out loud for possible scenerios.... What's your take on it?....

NKySteeler
05-21-2008, 11:06 PM
...You can have whatever box, but you have to have a dish capable of receiving HD signals...

stlrz d
05-21-2008, 11:14 PM
...You can have whatever box, but you have to have a dish capable of receiving HD signals...

So HD box without HD dish = no HD picture. Got it.

anothersteelerfan
05-21-2008, 11:14 PM
I don't know about Dish working with DirecTV, but I do know if you want an HD/DVR receiver and your Mom had the dish with an old receiver it probably won't work. Because when we updated our receivers we had to have a new dish installed. I can't tell you the reason just that when we called about the new receivers they told us our dish wasn't compatible. I also remember several years ago when they started offering local channels, we ordered them and they weren't working and when we told them we still didn't have them, they said that was due to the dish as well and they brought and installed a new one.


We've never had to pay for any equipment, so to be safe I'd go with DirecTV's dish. Just mention dish network anytime you want anything and they'll pretty much offer you the moon.

stlrz d
05-21-2008, 11:18 PM
I don't know about Dish working with DirecTV, but I do know if you want an HD/DVR receiver and your Mom had the dish with an old receiver it probably won't work. Because when we updated our receivers we had to have a new dish installed. I can't tell you the reason just that when we called about the new receivers they told us our dish wasn't compatible. I also remember several years ago when they started offering local channels, we ordered them and they weren't working and when we told them we still didn't have them, they said that was due to the dish as well and they brought and installed a new one.


We've never had to pay for any equipment, so to be safe I'd go with DirecTV's dish. Just mention dish network anytime you want anything and they'll pretty much offer you the moon.

Thanks for the info. I have to get (and install) the dish on my own. I'm splitting service with my buddy. Meaning the extra box he's getting for his "den" will actually be 15 miles away in my living room. :wink:

costanza2k1
05-21-2008, 11:21 PM
NKY is correct you need to have 'bigger' dish to receive the signals...check out ebay they should have the dish minus receiver for sale.

costanza2k1
05-21-2008, 11:24 PM
I have an extra one that's not being used anymore at my farm shop. You can have it for nothing if you don't mind paying for the shipping. I can ship it at cost for you since I own a few UPS stores (that's like 40% off). Let me know and I'll get the lift up there and pull it down.

stlrz d
05-21-2008, 11:28 PM
I have an extra one that's not being used anymore at my farm shop. You can have it for nothing if you don't mind paying for the shipping. I can ship it at cost for you since I own a few UPS stores (that's like 40% off). Let me know and I'll get the lift up there and pull it down.

Hold that thought...I need to confirm everything first, but that is one hell of an offer, and pending any unforeseen circumstances I will gladly accept!

Thank you!

LasVegasGuy
05-21-2008, 11:39 PM
stlrz, I believe they all have thier own "encoding" within, but am not sure. You can simply call and ask them for that matter.... BTW, I suggest going to a 5-LNB dish and getting a HD receiver.... It's worth it!.... If you have any serious questions, PM me, or better yet, give me a call and I'll give you all the info I know.... :wink:

Thanks for that bit of info. The dish on my mom's house is 5 or 6 years old...probably not HD compatible. As for an HD box...there is no doubt on that my friend...no doubt. I may have to take a look on eBay for a dish that meets the criteria you mentioned.

I'll check into it and let you know if I need any more info.

In case anyone's wondering, I can't buy a dish from directv or have it installed by directv because I'm not signing up for service.

Shhhhhh.... :P


Or you can take a look at someones house? Seriously, what about Craigslist? Here's a link to Green Bay since I don't know your exact location.

http://greenbay.craigslist.org/search/sss?query=dish

LasVegasGuy
05-21-2008, 11:52 PM
I don't know about Dish working with DirecTV, but I do know if you want an HD/DVR receiver and your Mom had the dish with an old receiver it probably won't work. Because when we updated our receivers we had to have a new dish installed. I can't tell you the reason just that when we called about the new receivers they told us our dish wasn't compatible. I also remember several years ago when they started offering local channels, we ordered them and they weren't working and when we told them we still didn't have them, they said that was due to the dish as well and they brought and installed a new one.


We've never had to pay for any equipment, so to be safe I'd go with DirecTV's dish. Just mention dish network anytime you want anything and they'll pretty much offer you the moon.

Thanks for the info. I have to get (and install) the dish on my own. I'm splitting service with my buddy. Meaning the extra box he's getting for his "den" will actually be 15 miles away in my living room. :wink:


You will have to let us know if this works. My mom, brother and myself all have directv and live about 20 miles from each other. We all spend about $70 to $80 a month. It would sure be nice to split the bill 3 ways but I would have to think Directv has some sort of protection against this.

costanza2k1
05-21-2008, 11:56 PM
I don't know about Dish working with DirecTV, but I do know if you want an HD/DVR receiver and your Mom had the dish with an old receiver it probably won't work. Because when we updated our receivers we had to have a new dish installed. I can't tell you the reason just that when we called about the new receivers they told us our dish wasn't compatible. I also remember several years ago when they started offering local channels, we ordered them and they weren't working and when we told them we still didn't have them, they said that was due to the dish as well and they brought and installed a new one.


We've never had to pay for any equipment, so to be safe I'd go with DirecTV's dish. Just mention dish network anytime you want anything and they'll pretty much offer you the moon.

Thanks for the info. I have to get (and install) the dish on my own. I'm splitting service with my buddy. Meaning the extra box he's getting for his "den" will actually be 15 miles away in my living room. :wink:


You will have to let us know if this works. My mom, brother and myself all have directv and live about 20 miles from each other. We all spend about $70 to $80 a month. It would sure be nice to split the bill 3 ways but I would have to think Directv has some sort of protection against this.

LVG it will work as the Birds in the sky use spot beaming to figure out if anyone is trying to do them dirty. I think 20 miles apart would be just fine. When you talk to DTV just tell them the receivers are located at one house in the family room, living room, and bedroom.

anothersteelerfan
05-22-2008, 12:04 AM
I don't know about Dish working with DirecTV, but I do know if you want an HD/DVR receiver and your Mom had the dish with an old receiver it probably won't work. Because when we updated our receivers we had to have a new dish installed. I can't tell you the reason just that when we called about the new receivers they told us our dish wasn't compatible. I also remember several years ago when they started offering local channels, we ordered them and they weren't working and when we told them we still didn't have them, they said that was due to the dish as well and they brought and installed a new one.


We've never had to pay for any equipment, so to be safe I'd go with DirecTV's dish. Just mention dish network anytime you want anything and they'll pretty much offer you the moon.

Thanks for the info. I have to get (and install) the dish on my own. I'm splitting service with my buddy. Meaning the extra box he's getting for his "den" will actually be 15 miles away in my living room. :wink:


You will have to let us know if this works. My mom, brother and myself all have directv and live about 20 miles from each other. We all spend about $70 to $80 a month. It would sure be nice to split the bill 3 ways but I would have to think Directv has some sort of protection against this.

LVG it will work as the Birds in the sky use spot beaming to figure out if anyone is trying to do them dirty. I think 20 miles apart would be just fine. When you talk to DTV just tell them the receivers are located at one house in the family room, living room, and bedroom.
The thing I don't understand is the access card, how's that going to work?

costanza2k1
05-22-2008, 12:09 AM
I'm assuming they have receivers and access cards. To go through the motions, my brother in law and cousin do this. 2 of us canceled our programming and then my cousin said he bought 2 receivers. Once you say that DTV programs the smart card, it has a few bytes of storage space in it that allows DTV or a hacker to "marry" the smart card to a physical address and receiver if need be.

stlrz d
05-22-2008, 07:08 AM
LVG - There are guys I work with doing this now. The guy with the subscription gets a box for the spare room, gives it to the other guy who has a dish installed, he hooks it up himself and it works. Then the one guy pays the other guy half. :)